EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Document C/2024/02356

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation


OJ C, C/2024/2356, 21.3.2024, ELI: (BG, ES, CS, DA, DE, ET, EL, EN, FR, GA, HR, IT, LV, LT, HU, MT, NL, PL, PT, RO, SK, SL, FI, SV)


European flag

Official Journal
of the European Union


Series C



New national side of euro coins intended for circulation


Image 1

National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Belgium

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (1). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009  (2), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Belgium

Subject of commemoration: The Belgian presidency of the Council of the EU

Description of the design: The design depicts a flock of birds (swallows), which is a symbol for the workings of the EU, by moving together as a group yet with each member having room to manoeuvre in an individual manner, thereby creating one complex, dynamic entity. The group therefore primarily stands for togetherness. During the flight of the swallows, there is always one who pulls the head and takes the group in tow, which will be Belgium in the first half of 2024. The 27 birds also symbolise the total number of EU member states. The country code ‘BE’ is located in between the birds, in the upper right side of the design. Underneath the flock of birds, a vacant space on the lower half is filled with the description ‘BELGIAN PRESIDENCY OF THE COUNCIL OF THE EU 2024’. At the far left are the initials of the designer Iris Bruijns. As the Royal Dutch Mint will strike the coins, the mintmark of Utrecht, a mercury staff is also located on the far left, above which stands the Belgian mint director mintmark, an aster flower in front of an Erlenmeyer flask. T

The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Estimated number of coins to be issued: 2 128 500

Date of issue: First quarter 2024

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

(2)  See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).


ISSN 1977-091X (electronic edition)