EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

European Union institutions

The European Union (EU) has an institutional framework aimed at promoting and defending its values, objectives and interests, the interests of its citizens and those of its Member States. This framework also contributes to ensuring the coherence, effectiveness and continuity of EU policies and actions.

According to Article 13 of the Treaty on European Union, the institutional framework comprises seven institutions:

  • the European Parliament
  • the European Council
  • the Council of the European Union (simply called ‘the Council’)
  • the European Commission
  • the Court of Justice of the European Union
  • the European Central Bank
  • the Court of Auditors.

Each institution acts within the limits of its remit, granted in the treaties in line with the procedures, conditions and purposes laid down therein.

The Parliament, the Council and the Commission are assisted by the European Economic and Social Committee and the European Committee of the Regions performing advisory functions.