EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Glossary of summaries

Glossary of summaries


The pre-accession strategy offers a ‘structured dialogue’ between EU institutions and enlargement countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kosovo*, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey). These countries all have an EU perspective and need to fulfil the Copenhagen criteria.

Bilateral agreements form the basis for our relations. For the western Balkans, the main framework for relations is the stabilisation and association process, and each country has a stabilisation and association agreement in place (except for Kosovo). Turkey has an association agreement with the EU.

The pre-accession strategy also includes the accession negotiations process once certain conditions are met, as well as substantial pre-accession assistance support.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence.