EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Glossary of summaries

Glossary of summaries


The euro area comprises the EU countries that have adopted the euro as their currency.

Because these countries share the same currency, they need to coordinate their economic policies very closely to ensure its stability. This is done on an ongoing basis and by means of monthly meetings of the Eurogroup where issues of common concern for the euro area's management are discussed and acted upon.