Glossary of summaries

Help Export PDF Print this page 

Euro area

The euro area comprises the EU countries that have adopted the euro as their currency.

Because these countries share the same currency, they need to coordinate their economic policies very closely to ensure its stability. This is done on an ongoing basis and by means of monthly meetings of the Eurogroup where issues of common concern for the euro area's management are discussed and acted upon.