Glossary of summaries

Help Export PDF Print this page 

European Central Bank (ECB)

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank of the euro area and an EU institution located in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. Together with the euro area national central banks, it forms the Eurosystem, which conducts monetary policy in the euro area. Its primary objective is to maintain price stability, i.e. to safeguard the value of the euro. In addition, the ECB, in cooperation with the national supervisors, carries out banking supervision in the euro area and in other participating Member States within the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM).