Accept Refuse

EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Glossary of summaries

Glossary of summaries


Following the 2008 global financial crisis, a High Level Group chaired by Jacques de Larosière, examined how the EU's supervisory arrangements could be strengthened both to better protect its citizens and to rebuild trust in the financial system. It concluded that supervisory arrangements should focus both on individual firms (e.g. banks & insurance companies), and on the stability of the financial system as a whole.

As a result, the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS) was established. It comprises 3 European supervisory authorities, the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB), the Joint Committee of the European Supervisory Authorities and the national supervisory authorities.

The European Banking Authority (EBA) is one of the 3 European supervisory authorities established in January 2011. It is an independent EU authority based in London. It works to ensure effective and consistent prudential regulation and supervision across the European banking sector. Its activities include carrying out EU-wide stress tests on banks to assess their resilience to adverse economic developments. The purpose is to identify vulnerabilities so as to repair the banking sector and increase confidence in it.

The other European supervisory authorities are:

  • the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA); and
  • the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA).