Accept Refuse

EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Glossary of summaries

Committee of the Regions

Created in 1992 under the Treaty of Maastricht and established in 1994, the Committee of the Regions (CoR) is consulted by the Commission, Council and Parliament on topics affecting local or regional interests (Article 307 Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union - TFEU).

These topics include economic and social cohesion, employment, social policy, energy and telecommunications, vocational training, and, since the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty, issues such as climate change and civil protection. The CoR may also draw up opinions on its own initiative.

The CoR is composed of 353 members from local and regional authorities (Article 305 TFEU). They are appointed by the Council of the EU for a 5-year term (Article 306 TFEU).

The CoR also has the right to bring legal actions before the European Court of Justice in 2 instances:

  • to protect its own institutional prerogatives,
  • to request the annulment of new EU legislation that it considers being in breach of the principle of subsidiarity, in the policy areas where the EU Treaty requires that the CoR be consulted.