EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Glossary of summaries

Glossary of summaries


The European Commission consists of 28 members, one from each EU country.

Article 17(5) of the Treaty on European Union stipulates that as from 1 November 2014, the Commission is to be made up of a number of members corresponding to two-thirds of the number of EU countries. However, it also provides for some flexibility, in that it allows the European Council to decide unanimously to change that number.

In 2009, before the second Irish referendum to ratify the Lisbon Treaty, the European Council reaffirmed its commitment (made previously in December 2008), to adopt a decision ensuring that the number of members of the Commission would correspond to the number of EU countries so that each one of them would continue to be entitled to nominate a member of the Commission. That decision was adopted by the European Council on 22 May 2013 (Decision 2013/272/EU).