Wednesday 17 December 2003

Oral explanations of vote:

Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0543/2003

- Christoph Werner Konrad
- Linda McAvan
- Neil MacCormick
- Hiltrud Breyer
- Patricia McKenna

Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0512/2003 (Côte d'Ivoire)

Patricia McKenna

20. Corrections to votes

Corrections to votes were submitted by the following Members:

Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0543/2003 (Members' Statute)

amendment 1

for: Elisabeth Schroedter, Olga Zrihen, Georges Garot, Harlem Désir, Jean-Claude Fruteau, Florence Kuntz, Paul Coûteaux, Adeline Hazan, Marie-Arlette Carlotti, Charlotte Cederschiöld, Ioannis Patakis, Peder Wachtmeister, Mogens N.J. Camre

against: Rodi Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou, Marie-Hélène Descamps

resolution (as a whole)

for: Patricia McKenna, Rodi Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou, W.G. van Velzen, Ewa Klamt, Elisabeth Schroedter, Luís Queiró, Charlotte Cederschiöld, Sami Naïr, Gérard Caudron, Michel-Ange Scarbonchi, Michel J.M. Dary

against: Dana Rosemary Scallon

abstention: Monica Frassoni, Ingo Friedrich

Recommendation for second reading Manders — A5-0461/2003

- amendment 1 for: Dominique F.C. Souchet against: Francesco Rutelli
- amendment 3 against: Francesco Rutelli
- amendment 9 first part for: Hans Karlsson
- amendment 45 for: Marie-Arlette Carlotti
- amendment 58 for: Bernard Poignant, Olga Zrihen, Pervenche Berès against: Astrid Thors
- amendment 46 for: Armonia Bordes

EN

Wednesday 17 December 2003

amendment 41
 for: Rodi Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou, Paul Rübig
 against: Ward Beysen, Hans Karlsson

amendment 16
 for: Nicole Thomas-Mauro
 against: Inglewood

amendment 43for: Reinhard Rack

amendment 57for: Pervenche Berès

Recommendation for second reading Grossetête — A5-0446/2003

amendment 21 for: John Purvis

amendment 22 for: John Purvis

amendment 23against: Rodi Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou

amendment 41for: John Purvis

Recommendation for second reading Grossetête — A5-0444/2003

amendment 27
 for: Eurig Wyn, Liam Hyland, James (Jim) Fitzsimons, Jan Mulder
 against: Marie-Hélène Descamps

amendment 28
 for: Liam Hyland, James (Jim) Fitzsimons
 against: Glyn Ford

Report Koch — A5-0418/2003

legislative resolution
 for: Inger Schörling
 against: Jeffrey William Titford, Nigel Paul Farage

Report De Clercq — A5-0408/2003

resolution (as a whole)for: Marie-Hélène Descamps

Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0536/2003 (Legislative and work programme of the Commission for 2004)

- paragraph 17, second part against: Patricia McKenna
- paragraph 27for: Othmar Karas
- amendment 4
 for: Marie-Hélène Descamps, Bashir Khanbhai, Dominique Vlasto, Françoise de Veyrinas, Anne-Marie Schaffner, Hugues Martin, Françoise Grossetête
 against: Christopher J.P. Beazley, Helmut Kuhne, Torben Lund
 abstention: Jeffrey William Titford, Nigel Paul Farage

Wednesday 17 December 2003

- amendment 5
 for: Marie-Hélène Descamps, Yves Butel, Dominique Vlasto, Françoise de Veyrinas, Anne-Marie Schaffner, Hugues Martin, Françoise Grossetête
 against: Bernard Poignant
 abstention: Jeffrey William Titford, Nigel Paul Farage
- paragraph 49
 for: Jeffrey William Titford, Nigel Paul Farage
- paragraph 51for: Othmar Karas
- paragraph 52for: Othmar Karas

Members present but not voting:

Armonia Bordes and Chantal Cauquil had been present but had not taken part in the votes on the following items: Joint motion for a resolution B5-0543/2003 (amendment 1 and final vote), Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0536/2003 (paragraphs 17, 27, 49, 50, 51, 53 and amendment 5) and Joint motion for a resolution RC-B5-0512/2003 (amendment 1).

END OF VOTING TIME

(The sitting, suspended at 12.50, resumed at 15.00.)

IN THE CHAIR: Joan COLOM I NAVAL

Vice-President

21. Approval of Minutes of previous sitting

The Minutes of the previous sitting were approved.

Ioannis Patakis criticised the bombings in Afghanistan which had caused many casualties, in particular children; he asked that the Bureau call on Parliament to observe a minute's silence at the next part-session in memory of the victims (the President noted his request which he undertook to refer to the Bureau).

22. Electronic road toll systems ***I (debate)

Report on the proposal for a directive of the European Parliament and of the Council on the widespread introduction and interoperability of electronic road toll systems in the Community [COM(2003) 132 — C5-0190/2003 — 2003/0081(COD)] — Committee on Regional Policy, Transport and Tourism. Rapporteur: Renate Sommer (A5-0435/2003).

Renate Sommer introduced the report.

Claude Turmes (draftsman of the opinion of the ITRE Committee) spoke.

Loyola de Palacio (Vice-President of the Commission) spoke.