Monday 3 April 2006

11. Commission competition policy 2004 (debate)

Report on the Commission report on competition policy 2004 [2005/2209(INI)] — Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs. Rapporteur: Alain Lipietz (A6-0065/2006)

Alain Lipietz introduced the report.

Neelie Kroes (Member of the Commission) spoke.

The following spoke: Jonathan Evans, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Antolín Sánchez Presedo, on behalf of the PSE Group, Sharon Bowles, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Godfrey Bloom, on behalf of the IND/ DEM Group, Gunnar Hökmark, Pervenche Berès, Corien Wortmann-Kool, Ieke van den Burg, Andreas Schwab and Elisa Ferreira.

IN THE CHAIR: Luigi COCILOVO

Vice-President

The following spoke: Othmar Karas, Alexander Stubb, Christopher Heaton-Harris and Neelie Kroes.

The debate closed.

Vote: Minutes of 04.04.2006, Item 8.5.

12. Openness of meetings of the Council when acting in its legislative capacity — Access to the institutions' documents — (debate)

Report on the Special Report from the European Ombudsman following the draft recommendation to the Council of the European Union in complaint 2395/2003/GG concerning the openness of the meetings of the Council when acting in its legislative capacity [2005/2243(INI)] — Committee on Petitions. Rapporteur: David Hammerstein Mintz (A6-0056/2006)

Report with recommendations to the Commission on access to the institutions' documents [2004/2125 (INI)] — Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. Rapporteur: Michael Cashman (A6-0052/2006)

David Hammerstein Mintz introduced the report (A6-0056/2006).

Michael Cashman introduced the report (A6-0052/2006).

Margot Wallström (Vice-President of the Commission) spoke.

The following spoke: Andreas Schwab, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Michael Cashman, on behalf of the PSE Group, Chris Davies, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Johannes Voggenhuber, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Erik Meijer, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Marcin Libicki, on behalf of the UEN Group, Jens-Peter Bonde, on behalf of the IND/DEM Group, Charlotte Cederschiöld, Alexandra Dobolyi and Anneli Jäätteenmäki.

IN THE CHAIR: Mario MAURO

Vice-President

The following spoke: Carl Schlyter, Carlos Coelho, Roger Knapman, Inés Ayala Sender, Bill Newton Dunn, Alexander Stubb, Proinsias De Rossa, Barbara Kudrycka, Maria Matsouka, David Hammerstein Mintz and Elmar Brok.

The debate closed.

Vote: Minutes of 04.04.2006, Item 8.6 and Minutes of 04.04.2006, Item 8.7.