Official Journal of the European Union

C 87/10


Under the Erasmus+ Programme ‘National Authorities for Apprenticeships’

2014/C 87/07

1.   Objectives and description

The objective of the Call is to support the introduction or modernisation of apprenticeships within initial VET systems.

The Call encourages the development of high-quality apprenticeship-type training and excellence in work-based learning in VET through partnerships between National Authorities responsible for education, employment and economic affairs, social partners, relevant intermediary bodies (such as chambers of commerce, industry and crafts, professional and sectoral organisations), VET providers and other relevant stakeholders.

The present Call addresses National Authorities in charge of apprenticeship systems, embedded in the initial vocational education and training (VET) systems in each Erasmus+ programme country, or an organisation designated by them.

The direct involvement of the competent National Authorities is to make sure that the projects can effectively contribute to national reforms, building high-quality apprenticeship schemes, and can be linked to the work of the European Alliance for Apprenticeships and the follow-up of the Bruges Communiqué. Each project will draw on practices in one or more other Erasmus+ programme countries, thus benefiting from the transfer of knowledge and experience. The active involvement of national apprenticeship stakeholders such as social partners (employers' and employees' organisations), VET schools, individual companies and intermediary organisations will be an important element of the quality of the proposal.

This Call constitutes one of the actions in support of the European Alliance for Apprenticeships and supports Member States' policy reform efforts in this respect.

2.   Eligible applicants

The present Call addresses National Authorities in charge of apprenticeship systems, embedded in the initial vocational education and training (VET) systems and seeking their reform in each Erasmus+ programme country.

Grant applications must be submitted by at least two entities from at least two different programme countries.

The eligible leading applicant (co-ordinator) must be a National Authority or an organisation designated by the National Authority responsible for VET and for defining, monitoring and potentially revising the legislative framework for apprenticeships and located in a programme country.

Eligible co-applicants may be ministries and other stakeholders, such as social partners, businesses, chambers of commerce, VET providers, etc.

Where the leading applicant (co-ordinator) is an organisation designated by a National Authority, the National Authority designating it must be included in the application either as co-applicant, or as an affiliated entity or as an associated partner participating in the implementation on a no-cost basis.

Natural persons are not eligible.

Eligible countries are:

the 28 Member States of the European Union,

the EEA EFTA States: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway (1),

EU candidate countries: the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey (2),

Potential EU candidate countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina (2).

3.   Eligible activities

The activities implemented in the project need to have a clear link to and be strongly embedded in on-going or planned reforms for setting up or strengthening apprenticeship schemes. The activities shall engage relevant national stakeholders, as well as drawing on the advice and expertise of peers from one or more Erasmus+ programme countries with well-established apprenticeship systems or which are going through similar reform processes.

The following types of activities are eligible under this Call for proposals:

reviews of national draft legislation, feasibility studies (including for pilot sectors to be involved in apprenticeships), cost-benefits analysis;

detailed action plans for developing and implementing apprenticeships reforms;

evaluations of pilot schemes and design of evaluation methodologies, including quality indicators;

organising and/or participating in conferences, seminars and working groups;

training activities, including a strategy for becoming in-company trainers;

awareness-raising campaigns, valorisation and dissemination actions; activities that support project's sustainability (promotion vis-à-vis the target population and potential future partners).

exchanges of good and/or innovative practices;

research activities;

communities of practice.

The duration of the projects is 24 months. Applications for projects scheduled to run for a shorter or longer period than that specified in this Call for proposals will not be accepted.

4.   Award criteria

Eligible applications will be assessed on the basis of the following criteria:


Relevance of the project (maximum 40 points — minimum threshold 20 points)


Quality of the project design and implementation (maximum 20 points — threshold minimum 10 points)


Quality of the project consortium and the cooperation arrangements (maximum 20 points — threshold minimum 10 points)


Impact and dissemination (maximum 20 points — threshold minimum 10 points)

5.   Budget

The total budget earmarked for the co-financing of projects is estimated at maximum EUR 4 million.

Each grant will amount to between EUR 100 000 and 300 000. The Agency expects to fund around 16 proposals.

The EU grant is limited to a maximum co-financing rate of 75 % of eligible costs.

The Agency reserves the right not to distribute all the funds available.

6.   Deadline for submission of applications

Applications must be submitted no later than the 26 June 2014 12:00 midday (Brussels time).

Applications shall comply with the following requirements:

they must be submitted exclusively using the correct official online application form;

they may be drafted in any EU official language.

Please note that only applications submitted online using the e-form will be considered.

Failure to comply with those requirements will lead to the rejection of the application.

7.   Full details

The guidelines together with the application form can be found at the following Internet address:


Applications must comply with all the terms of the guidelines.

(1)  The participation of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway is subject to an EEA Joint Committee Decision. If, at the time of the grant award decision, the Erasmus+ Regulation has not been incorporated in the EEA Agreement, participants from these countries will not be funded and will not be taken into account with regard to the minimum size of consortia/partnerships.

(2)  The participation of Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia in the present call for proposals is subject to the signature of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Commission and the competent authorities of each of these countries respectively. If, at the time of the grant award decision, the Memorandum of Understanding has not been signed, participants from this country will not be funded and will not be taken into account with regard to the minimum size of consortia/partnerships.