## JOINT DECLARATION

## on Article 31 of the Decision adjusting the instruments concerning the accession of the new Member States to the European Union

The new Member States will take part in a system involving the rotation of three Advocates-General in the alphabetical order applied at present, it being understood that Germany, France, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom will not take part in that system, as they will have a permanent Advocate-General each. The alphabetical order is thus the following:

Belgique (1988-1994), Danmark (1991-1997), Ellas (1994-2000), Ireland, Luxembourg, Nederland, Österreich, Portugal, Suomi, Sverige.

An Advocate-General of Spanish nationality, an Advocate-General of Irish nationality and an Advocate-General of Italian nationality shall be appointed as from the date of accession. The term of office of the Spanish Advocate-General will expire on 6 October 1997 and that of the Irish Advocate-General as well as that of the Italian Advocate-General appointed as from the date of accession will expire on 6 October 2000.

Information concerning the date of entry into force of the Treaty between the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the French Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden concerning the accession of the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union (<sup>1</sup>)

The instruments of ratification of the Treaty between the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the French Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden concerning the accession of the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union, signed in Corfu on 24 June 1994, having been deposited before 1 January 1995 by the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the French Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Republic of Austria, the Portuguese Republic, the Republic of Finland, the Kingdom of Sweden and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Treaty, as amended by the Council Decision of 1 January 1995 adjusting the instruments relating to the accession of the new Member States to the European Union (2), entered into force, in accordance with the first sentence of the second subparagraph of Article 2 (2) thereof, in relation to these States on 1 January 1995.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>) OJ No C 241, 29. 8. 1994, p. 1.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>) See p. 1 of this OJ.