Eurofer confederation pursuant to Articles 10 and 14c of the relevant general Decisions, Decisions No 2177/83 and No 234/84.

2. The Commission is ordered to pay the costs.

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT (First Chamber) of 11 July 1985

in Case 236/82: A. Brautigam v. Council of the European Communities (1)

(Official — Regular transfers outside country of employment)

(85/C 195/09)

(Language of the Case: Dutch)

(Provisional translation; the definitive translation will be published in the Reports of Cases before the Court)

In Case 236/82: A. Brautigam, an official of the Council of the European Communities residing at Hoeilaart (Belgium), represented by Mrs A. W. Schaper-Van Manen of the Hague Bar, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the Chambers of Mrs J. Jansen-Housse, BP 16, Steinfort, against Council of the European Communities, represented by A. Jossart of the Brussels Bar, acting as Agent, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the offices of J. Käser, Director of the Legal Service of the European Investment Bank, 100 Boulevard Konrad Adenauer - application for the annulment of the Council's refusal to grant a request for the application of Article 17 (2) (b) of Annex VII to the Staff Regulations and for damages in compensation for that refusal — the Court (First Chamber), composed of G. Bosco, President, T. Koopmans and R. Joliet, Judges; C. O. Lenz, Advocate-General; J. A. Pompe, Deputy Registrar, gave a judgment on 11 July 1985, the operative part of which is as follows:

- 1. The Council's decision, notified to the applicant by memorandum of 29 January 1982, to refuse its authorization for the transfers to the Commerzbank requested by the applicant pursuant to Article 17 (2) (b) of Annex VII to the Staff Regulations, is annulled.
- 2. The Council is ordered to bear the costs.

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT

(Second Chamber)

of 11 July 1985

in Joined Cases 66, 67, 68 and 136 to 140/83: Pierre Hattet and Others v. Commission of the European Communities (1)

(Official — Former employee of the European Association for Cooperation — Classification on appointment as an official)

(85/C 195/10)

(Language of the Case: French)

(Provision translation; the definitive translation will be published in the Reports of the Cases before the Court)

In Joined Cases 66, 67, 68 and 136 to 140/83: (Case 66/83) Pierre Hattet, 18 Avenue Eléonore, 1150 Brussels, (Case 67/83) Sabine Matt, née Gérard, 54 Rue Bâtonnier Braffort, 1040 Brussels, (Case 68/83) Gérard de Szy-Tarrisse, 12 Avenue Léon Tombu, 1200 Brussels, (Case 136/83) Giorgio Donà, 19 Avenue Jeanne, 1050 Brussels, (Case 137/83) Monica-Nico Becquart, née Delbaere, 89 Rue Cervantès, 1190 Brussels, (Case 138/83) Yvette Schmitz, née Feyaerts, 6 Rue de la Fontaine, 1320 Genval, (Case 139/83) Simone Le Maitre, née Textier, 111 Rue du Long Chêne, 1970 Wezembeek-Oppem, and (Case 140/83) Nadine De Waegeneer, née Lacourt, 8 Panoramalaan, 1980 Tervuren, officials of the Commission of the European Communities, assisted and represented by Marcel Slusny, of the Brussels Bar, 272 Avenue Brugmann, 1180 Brussels, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the Chambers of Ernest Arendt, Centre Louvigny, 34 B IV Rue Philippe II, against the Commission of the European Communities (Agent: Hendrik van Lier, assisted by Robert Andersen of the Brussels Bar) application for declarations that all the applicants must be deemed to have been employed by the Commission since the dates of their respective contracts with the European Association for Cooperation, that each procedural step prior to the applicants' appointments as probationary officials and those appointments themselves are void, and that the Commission must regrade the applicants and, in Cases 66 and 68/83, application for an order that certain documents be produced — the Court (Second Chamber), composed of O. Due, President, P. Pescatore and K. Bahlmann, Judges; P. VerLoren van Themaat, Advocate-General; H. A. Rühl, Principal Administrator, for the Registrar, gave a judgment on 11 July 1985, the operative part of which is as follows:

1. The Commission's decisions of 30 June 1982 appointing Pierre Hattet, Sabine Matt, Gérard de Szy-Tarrisse, of 14 July 1982 appointing Giorgio Donà, and of 8 July 1982 appointing Monica-Nico Becquart, Yvette Schmitz, Simone Le Maitre and Nadine de Waegeneer are void in so far as they fix the grade and step of the applicants.

⁽¹⁾ OJ No C 283, 28. 10. 1982, p. 3.

⁽¹⁾ OJ No C 145, 3. 6. 1983 and No C 209, 5. 8. 1983.