New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2011/C 24/04)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Germany

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (¹). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (²), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the Community providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Germany

Subject of commemoration: Nordrhein-Westfalen

Description of the design:

The design shows the Köln cathedral in its entirety, as a masterpiece of the Gothic architecture, emphasizing the beauty of the south portal. The name NORDRHEIN-WESTFALEN, just below the building, links the pictured building with the state. The mint mark, represented by the letter A, D, F, G or J, is located in the right upper core region, the initials of the artist, Heinz Hoyer, in the right central core area.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European Union flag. Between the stars, at the bottom, the year '2011' and at the top the indication of the issuing country reference 'D'.

Volume of issuance: 30 million coins

Date of issue: January 2011

⁽¹⁾ For the other national sides of euro circulation coins, see: http://ec.europa.eu/economy_finance/euro/cash/coins/index_en.htm

⁽²⁾ See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).