II

(Information)

INFORMATION FROM EUROPEAN UNION INSTITUTIONS, BODIES, OFFICES AND AGENCIES

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Communication from the Commission upon full use of the 'abatimento' quota for 2010 (sorghum, Spain)

(2011/C 43/01)

Commission Regulation (EU) No 1262/2010 of 22 December 2010 provides for the prolongation of the tenders for the 2010 quota for import from third countries, for release for free circulation in Spain, of 300 000 tonnes of sorghum, until the quota is completely used and at the latest until 31 May 2011. On 18 January 2011, the quantity of the 2010 quota has been completely used.

Communication concerning the entry into force, in trade between the European Union and the countries of the Common Market of the South (Mercado Común del Sur — Mercosur), of the provisions laid down in Commission Regulation (EEC) No 2454/93, concerning the definition of the concept of 'originating products' for the purpose of applying tariff preferences granted by the European Union to certain products from developing countries (regional cumulation of origin)

(2011/C 43/02)

Article 86 of Commission Regulation (EEC) No 2454/93 (¹), provides for regional cumulation to apply, inter alia, to those countries which are parties to the Agreement establishing the Common Market of the South (Mercado Común del Sur — Mercosur), in the context of the European Union's rules of origin applicable to the generalised system of preferences (GSP).

In particular, paragraph 2 of Article 86 includes a provision for the members of each of the regional groups mentioned to transmit to the European Commission, through the Secretariat of the regional group concerned or another competent joint body representing all the members of the group in question, undertakings to comply with the GSP rules of origin and to provide the necessary administrative cooperation for the control of certificates of origin Form A and invoice declarations.

Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay have met this obligation, and the provisions of regional cumulation therefore apply to these countries from 1 January 2011.