## New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2020/C 417/06)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Greece

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (<sup>1</sup>). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (<sup>2</sup>), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

## Issuing country: Greece

Subject of commemoration: 100 years since the union of Thrace with Greece

**Description of the design**: The design replicates an ancient coin of the Thracian city of Abdera, featuring a griffin. Inscribed along the inner edge are the words '100 YEARS SINCE THE UNION OF THRACE WITH GREECE' and 'HELLENIC REPUBLIC', as well as the year of issuance '2020' and a palmette (the mintmark of the Greek mint). Also visible at left is the monogram of the artist (George Stamatopoulos). The region of Thrace, located in the northeastern corner of the country, was united with Greece after the end of World War I.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Estimated number of coins to be issued: 750 000

Date of issue: May 2020

<sup>(1)</sup> See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>) See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).