New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2017/C 120/06)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by the Republic of San Marino

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (¹). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (²), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuance of euro coins are authorised to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, one of these being that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national side features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: The Republic of San Marino

Subject of commemoration: 750th anniversary of the birth of Giotto

Description of the design: On the left a detail from the clock tower of Santa Maria del Fiore in Florence, one of Giotto's architectural works; vertically, the words SAN MARINO, GIOTTO and the dates 1267-2017; on the right a detail from the portrait of Giotto and the abbreviation of the artist Luciana De Simoni (LDS); on the bottom, the letter R, indicating the 'Zecca' (mint) of Rome.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Number of coins to be issued: 80 000

Date of issue: March 2017

⁽¹⁾ See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national sides of all the coins issued in 2002.

⁽²⁾ See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).