Ι

(Information)

COMMISSION

Ecu (1)

10 March 1998

(98/C 75/01)

Currency amount for one unit:

Belgian and		Finnish markka	6,00260
Luxembourg franc	40,7844	Swedish krona	8,65386
Danish krone	7,53567	Pound sterling	0,660300
German mark	1,97710	United States dollar	1,08038
Greek drachma	312,338	Canadian dollar	1,52669
Spanish peseta	167,546	Japanese yen	137,889
French franc	6,62922	Swiss franc	1,60869
Irish pound	0,797448	Norwegian krone	8,21685
Italian lira	1945,52	Icelandic krona	78,7382
Dutch guilder	2,22840	Australian dollar	1,61492
Austrian schilling	13,9088	New Zealand dollar	1,85155
Portuguese escudo	202,194	South African rand	5,37652

The Commission has installed a telex with an automatic answering device which gives the conversion rates in a number of currencies. This service is available every day from 3.30 p.m. until 1 p.m. the following day. Users of the service should do as follows:

- call telex number Brussels 23789,
- give their own telex code,
- type the code 'cccc' which puts the automatic system into operation resulting in the transmission of the conversion rates of the ecu,
- the transmission should not be interrupted until the end of the message, which is marked by the code 'ffff'.
- Note: The Commission also has an automatic fax answering service (No 296 10 97/296 60 11) providing daily data concerning calculation of the conversion rates applicable for the purposes of the common agricultural policy.

(1) Council Regulation (EEC) No 3180/78 of 18 December 1978 (OJ L 379, 30.12.1978, p. 1), as last amended by Regulation (EEC) No 1971/89 (OJ L 189, 4.7.1989, p. 1).
Council Decision 80/1184/EEC of 18 December 1980 (Convention of Lomé) (OJ L 349, 23.12.1980, p. 34).

Commission Decision No 3334/80/ECSC of 19 December 1980 (OJ L 349, 23.12.1980, p. 27).

Financial Regulation of 16 December 1980 concerning the general budget of the European Communities (OJ L 345, 20.12.1980, p. 23).

Council Regulation (EEC) No 3308/80 of 16 December 1980 (OJ L 345, 20.12.1980, p. 1).

Decision of the Council of Governors of the European Investment Bank of 13 May 1981 (OJ L 311, 30.10.1981, p. 1).