DECISION

OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

of 1 January 1981

appointing the President of the Commission of the European Communities

(81/4/Euratom, ECSC, EEC)

THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities, and in particular Article 14 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty concerning the accession of the Hellenic Republic to the European Economic Community and to the European Atomic Energy Community, signed on 28 May 1979, and to the Council Decision of 24 May 1979 on the accession of the Hellenic Republic to the European Coal and Steel Community, and in particular Article 134 of the Act attached thereto,

Having regard to the Decision of the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States of the European Communities of 1 January 1981 appointing the Members of the Commission,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Sole Article

Mr Gaston Thorn is hereby appointed President of the Commission of the European Communities for the period from 6 January 1981 to 5 January 1983 inclusive.

Done at Brussels, 1 January 1981.

The President

Ch. A. VAN DER KLAAUW