DECISION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

of 1 January 1973

appointing the President and Vice-Presidents of the Commission

THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities, and in particular Article 14 thereof;

Having regard to the Treaty concerning the accession of new Member States to the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community, signed on 22 January 1972, and to the Council Decision of 22 January 1972 on the accession of new Member States to the European Coal and Steel Community and in particular Article 141 of the Act annexed thereto;

Having regard to the Decision of the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States of the European Communities of 1 January 1973 appointing Members of the Commission;

HAVE DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Sole article

- 1. Mr François-Xavier ORTOLI is hereby appointed President of the Commission of the European Communities for the period from 6 January 1973 to 5 January 1975 inclusive.
- 2. Mr Wilhelm HAFERKAMP
 - Mr Patrick John HILLERY
 - Mr Carlo SCARASCIA MUGNOZZA
 - Mr Henri SIMONET
 - Sir Christopher SOAMES

are hereby appointed Vice-Presidents of the Commission of the European Communities for the period from 6 January 1973 to 5 January 1975 inclusive.

Done at Brussels, 1 January 1973.

The President

P. HARMEL