COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2023/546

of 7 March 2023

appointing a member and two alternate members, proposed by the Republic of Slovenia, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (¹),

Having regard to the proposals of the Slovenian Government,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of the national mandate on the basis of which Ms Jasna GABRIČ was proposed for appointment.
- (4) Two alternate members' seats have become vacant following the appointment of Mr Tine RADINJA and Mr Tomaž ROŽEN as members of the Committee of the Regions by Council Decision (EU) 2022/1678 (3).
- (5) The Slovenian Government has proposed, on the basis of a different electoral mandate, Ms Jasna GABRIČ, representative of a local body who holds a local authority electoral mandate, *članica občinskega sveta*, *Občina Trbovlje* (member of the municipal council, Municipality of Trbovlje), as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- (6) The Slovenian Government has proposed the following representatives of local bodies who hold a local authority electoral mandate as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Mr Marko DIACI, *župan, Občina Šentjur* (Mayor, Municipality of Sentjur), and Mr Nejc SMOLE, *župan, Občina Medvode* (Mayor, Municipality of Medvode),

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following representatives of local bodies who hold an electoral mandate are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025:

- (a) as a member:
 - Ms Jasna GABRIČ, članica občinskega sveta, Občina Trbovlje (member of the municipal council, Municipality of Trbovlje) (change of mandate),

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

⁽²⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2019/2157 of 10 December 2019 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78).

⁽³⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2022/1678 of 26 September 2022 appointing two members, proposed by the Republic of Slovenia, of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L 252, 30.9.2022, p. 70).

EN

and

- (b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Marko DIACI, župan, Občina Šentjur (Mayor, Municipality of Sentjur),
 - Mr Nejc SMOLE, župan, Občina Medvode (Mayor, Municipality of Medvode).

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 7 March 2023.

For the Council The President L. EDHOLM