DECISIONS

COUNCIL DECISION 2019/1814

of 24 October 2019

appointing a member and an alternate member, proposed by the Kingdom of Spain, of the **Committee of the Regions**

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal of the Spanish Government,

Whereas:

- On 26 January 2015, 5 February 2015 and 23 June 2015, the Council adopted Decisions (EU) 2015/116 (1), (EU) 2015/190 (²) and (EU) 2015/994 (³) appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020. On 18 September 2015, by Council Decision (EU) 2015/1571 (4), Mr Pedro SANZ ALONSO was replaced by Mr José Ignacio CENICEROS GONZÁLEZ as a member. On 1 October 2015, by Council Decision (EU) 2015/1774 (3), Mr Emilio DEL RÍO SANZ was replaced by Ms Begoña MARTÍNEZ ARREGUI as an alternate member.
- (2)A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of the terms of office of Mr José Ignacio CENICEROS GONZÁLEZ.
- (3) An alternate member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of the terms of office of Ms Begoña MARTÍNEZ ARREGUI,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2020:

- (a) as a member:
 - Ms Concepción ANDREU RODRÍGUEZ, Presidenta de la Comunidad Autónoma de La Rioja,
- (b) as an alternate member:
 - Mr Francisco Celso GONZÁLEZ GONZÁLEZ, Consejero de Hacienda de la Comunidad Autónoma de La Rioja.

⁽¹) Council Decision (EU) 2015/116 of 26 January 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 20, 27.1.2015, p. 42).

Council Decision (EU) 2015/190 of 5 February 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the

Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 31, 7.2.2015, p. 25).

(3) Council Decision (EU) 2015/994 of 23 June 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 159, 25.6.2015, p. 70).

(4) Council Decision (EU) 2015/1571 of 18 September 2015 appointing two Spanish members of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L

^{245, 22.9.2015,} p. 8).

Council Decision (EÚ) 2015/1774 of 1 October 2015 appointing a Spanish alternate member of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L 258, 3.10.2015, p. 10).

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 24 October 2019.

For the Council The President A.-K. PEKONEN