DECISIONS

COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2018/1255

of 18 September 2018

appointing three members and four alternate members, proposed by the Slovak Republic, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal of the Slovak Government,

Whereas:

- On 26 January 2015, 5 February 2015 and 23 June 2015, the Council adopted Decisions (EU) 2015/116 (1), (EU) 2015/190 (2) and (EU) 2015/994 (3) appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020. On 17 February 2017, by Council Decision (EU) 2017/312 (4), Mr Radoslav ČUHA was replaced by Mr Miroslav BENKO as an alternate member.
- (2)Three members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the end of the term of office of Mr Pavol FREŠO, Mr Augustín HAMBÁLEK and Mr István ZACHARIAŠ.
- (3)Four alternate members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the end of the term of office of Mr Martin BERTA, Mr Tibor MIKUŠ, Mr Miroslav BENKO and Mr Richard TAKÁČ,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2020:

- (a) as members:
 - Mr Juraj DROBA, Chairman of Bratislava Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr Rastislav TRNKA, Chairman of Košice Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr József BERÉNYI, Vice-Chairman of Trnava Self-Governing Region;
- (b) as alternate members:
 - Ms Erika JURINOVÁ, Chairman of Žilina Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr Jaroslav BAŠKA, Chairman of Trenčín Self-Governing Region,
 - Mr Ján BELJAK, Member of Banská Bystrica Regional Parliament,
 - Mr Jozef VISKUPIČ, Chairman of Trnava Self-Governing Region.

⁽¹⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2015/116 of 26 January 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions

for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 20, 27.1.2015, p. 42).

Council Decision (EU) 2015/190 of 5 February 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 31, 7.2.2015, p. 25).

Council Decision (EU) 2015/994 of 23 June 2015 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020 (OJ L 159, 25.6.2015, p. 70).

Council Decision (EU) 2017/312 of 17 February 2017 appointing two members and two alternate members, proposed by the Slovak

Republic, of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L 45, 23.2.2017, p. 12).

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 18 September 2018.

For the Council The President G. BLÜMEL