COMMISSION DECISION

of 4 January 2017

on public holidays for 2018 for the institutions of the European Union

(2017/C 50/02)

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to the Staff Regulations of Officials of the European Union and the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants of the European Union (CEOS), laid down by Council Regulation (EEC, Euratom, ECSC) No 259/68 (¹) and in particular Article 61 thereof and Articles 16 and 91 of the CEOS,

Having regard to the joint rules establishing the list of public holidays of officials of the European Communities, and in particular Article 1(3) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The list of public holidays in 2018 for staff in Brussels and Luxembourg should be adopted pursuant to Article 61 of the Staff Regulations of Officials of the European Union and Articles 16 and 91 of the CEOS.
- (2) In 2018, Easter Sunday falls on 1 April.
- (3) In 2018, 24 December falls on a Monday.
- (4) On 12 October 2016, the Heads of Administration were consulted for their opinion on the list of public holidays for 2018,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The public holidays for 2018 for the institutions of the European Union shall be established for Brussels and Luxembourg.

1 January	Monday, New Year's Day
2 January	Tuesday, the day after New Year's Day
29 March	Maundy Thursday
30 March	Good Friday
2 April	Easter Monday
1 May	Tuesday, Labour Day
9 May	Wednesday, Anniversary of the Schuman Declaration
10 May	Thursday, Ascension Day
11 May	Friday, the day after Ascension Day
21 May	Whit Monday
15 August	Wednesday, Assumption Day

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 56, 4.3.1968, p. 1.

1 November	Thursday, All Saints' Day
2 November	Friday, All Souls' Day
24 December to 31 December	Monday Monday 6 end-of-year days
TOTAL	19 days

Article 2

Work will resume as normal on Thursday 3 January 2019.

Article 3

Without prejudice to the entire final schedule of public holidays for 2019, Tuesday 1 January and Wednesday 2 January 2019 will be holidays.

Done at Brussels, 4 January 2017.

For the Commission

Günther OETTINGER

Member of the Commission