COUNCIL DECISION

of 13 May 2013

appointing 12 members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency

(2013/C 138/05)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2006 concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH), establishing a European Chemicals Agency (1), and in particular Article 79 thereof,

Whereas:

- Article 79 of Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 provides that the Council is to appoint as members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency ('the Management Board') one representative from each Member State.
- The members of the Management Board should be (2) appointed on the basis of their relevant experience and expertise in the field of chemical safety or the regulation of chemicals whilst also ensuring that relevant expertise is available amongst the board members in the fields of general, financial and legal matters.
- The duration of the term of office should be four years. It (3) should be possible to renew the term of office once.
- (4) By Decision of 7 June 2007 (2) the Council appointed 27 members of the Management Board.
- The members of the Management Board nominated by (5) the Czech Republic, Ireland, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Hungary, the Netherlands, Austria, Slovenia, Finland and Sweden were all appointed for a period ending on 31 May 2013. Members of the Management Board from these Member States should therefore be nominated and appointed for a period which commences on 1 June 2013 and runs until 31 May 2017.
- Since the Decision of 7 June 2007, from the members (6) appointed for the period ending on 31 May 2013, the

French (3), Hungarian (4), Dutch (5), Slovenian (6), Finnish (7), and Swedish (8) members of the Management Board have been replaced.

The Council has received nominations from all the (7) Member States concerned,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following persons shall be appointed members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency ('the Management Board') for a second term running from 1 June 2013 to 31 May 2017 (name, nationality, date of birth):

- Mr Karel BLÁHA, Czech, 20 December 1953,
- Ms Ana FRESNO RUIZ, Spanish, 31 January 1952,
- Mr Martin LYNCH, Irish, 13 August 1946,
- Ms Catherine MIR, French, 20 February 1955,
- Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA, Italian, 13 June 1952,
- Mr Johannes Karel Barend Henri KWISTHOUT, Dutch, 6 June 1964,
- Mr Thomas JAKL, Austrian, 13 June 1965,
- Ms Simona FAJFAR, Slovenian, 17 November 1970,
- Ms Pirkko Liisa KIVELÄ, Finnish, 23 October 1953,
- Ms Nina CROMNIER, Swedish, 14 October 1966.

Article 2

The following persons shall be appointed members of the Management Board for a first term running from 1 June 2013 to 31 May 2017 (name, nationality, date of birth):

- Mr Paul RASQUÉ, Luxembourgish, 8 July 1981,
- Ms Krisztina BIRÓ, Hungarian, 5 April 1971.

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 396, 30.12.2006, p. 1.

⁽²⁾ OJ C 134, 16.6.2007, p. 6.

⁽³⁾ OJ C 178, 31.7.2009, p. 12.

⁽⁴⁾ OJ C 288, 25.9.2012, p. 4.

⁽⁵⁾ OJ C 178, 31.7.2009, p. 13.

⁽⁶⁾ OJ C 326, 3.12.2010, p. 4. (7) OJ C 320, 16.12.2008, p. 4.

⁽⁸⁾ See footnote 6.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 13 May 2013.

For the Council The President S. COVENEY