COMMISSION DECISION

of 21 June 2012

appointing independent scientific experts to the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee

(Text with EEA relevance)

(2012/C 182/06)

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 31 March 2004 laying down Community procedures for the authorisation and supervision of medicinal products for human and veterinary use and establishing a European Medicines Agency (¹), and in particular Article 61a(1) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Article 61a(1) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 requires that the Commission appoints six independent scientific experts as members of the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee.
- (2) Article 61a(1) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004 provides that the Commission is to appoint those members with a view to ensuring that the relevant expertise is available within the Committee.
- (3) In accordance with Article 61a(1) of Regulation (EC) No 726/2004, a public call for expression of interest has been undertaken by the Commission.
- (4) The members of the Committee are to be appointed for a period of three years starting on 2 July 2012, which may be prolonged once.
- (5) Where an independent scientific expert appointed by this decision is no longer capable of contributing efficiently to the work of the Committee, or resigns, the Commission may replace this member from the reserve list, for the remaining duration of the member's mandate,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed members of the Pharmacovigilance Risk Assessment Committee for a term of three years from 2 July 2012:

- Jane Ahlqvist RASTAD,
- Marie Louise DE BRUIN,
- Stephen J. W. EVANS,
- Brigitte KELLER-STANISLAWSKI,
- Hervé LE LOUET,
- Lennart WALDENLIND.

Article 2

The following are hereby placed on a reserve list by order of merit:

- Thierry TRENQUE,
- Michael THEODORAKIS,
- Giampiero MAZZAGLIA,
- Marie-Christine PERAULT-POCHAT,
- Annemarie HVIDBERG HELLEBEK.

Done at Brussels, 21 June 2012.

For the Commission John DALLI Member of the Commission