## COMMISSION REGULATION (EC) No 1265/2008

## of 16 December 2008

## amending Regulation (EEC) No 1859/82 concerning the selection of returning holdings for the purpose of determining incomes of agricultural holdings

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Regulation 79/65/EEC of 15 June 1965 setting up a network for the collection of accountancy data on the incomes and business operation of agricultural holdings in the European Economic Community (1), and in particular Article 4(4) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Article 2 of Commission Regulation (EEC) No 1859/82 (2) fixes per Member State the threshold of economic size of returning holdings falling within the field of survey of the farm accountancy data network.
- (2) In the case of Spain, structural changes have lead to a decrease in the number of smaller holdings and in their contribution to the total output of agriculture. The holdings with an economic size smaller than 4 ESU (435 307 holdings) represent only 4,04 % of total standard gross margin. The most relevant part of agricultural activity can therefore be covered with a threshold excluding the smaller holdings. The threshold set at 2 ESU should consequently be raised to 4 ESU.
- (3) Regulation (EEC) No 1859/82 should therefore be amended accordingly.
- (4) The measures provided for in this Regulation are in accordance with the opinion of the Community Committee for the Farm Accountancy Data Network,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

## Article 1

Article 2 of Regulation (EEC) No 1859/82 is replaced by the following:

'Article 2

For the 2008 accounting year (a period of 12 consecutive months beginning between 1 January 2008 and 1 July 2008) and for subsequent accounting years, the threshold as

referred to in Article 4 of Regulation 79/65/EEC in ESU shall be as follows:

— Belgium: 16 ESU

— Bulgaria: 1 ESU

— Czech Republic: 4 ESU

— Denmark: 8 ESU

— Germany: 16 ESU

- Estonia: 2 ESU

— Ireland: 2 ESU

— Greece: 2 ESU

— Spain: 4 ESU

- France: 8 ESU

— Italy: 4 ESU

- Cyprus: 2 ESU

— Latvia: 2 ESU

— Lithuania: 2 ESU

— Luxembourg: 8 ESU

— Hungary: 2 ESU

— Malta: 8 ESU

- Netherlands: 16 ESU

— Austria: 8 ESU

— Poland: 2 ESU

- Portugal: 2 ESU

— Romania: 1 ESU

— Slovenia: 2 ESU

— Slovakia: 8 ESU

— Finland: 8 ESU

<sup>(1)</sup> OJ 109, 23.6.1965, p. 1859/65.

<sup>(2)</sup> OJ L 205, 13.7.1982, p. 5.

a 1 a marr	1	1 -
— Sweden: 8 ESU	Articl	e 2

United Kingdom (with the exception of Northern Ireland):

This Regulation shall enter into force on the seventh day following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union

— United Kingdom (only Northern Ireland): 8 ESU.'

It shall apply from the 2008 accounting year.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 16 December 2008.

For the Commission

Mariann FISCHER BOEL

Member of the Commission