IV

(Notices)

NOTICES FROM EUROPEAN UNION INSTITUTIONS AND BODIES

COUNCIL

COUNCIL DECISION

of 25 May 2007

appointing two Dutch members of the European Economic and Social Committee

(2007/C 122/01)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 259 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 167 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision 2006/651/EC, Euratom of 15 September 2006 appointing Belgian, Greek, Irish, Cypriot, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Finnish, Swedish and British members and two Italian members of the European Economic and Social Committee (¹) for the period from 21 September 2006 to 20 September 2010,

Having regard to the nominations submitted by the Netherlands Government,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Commission,

Whereas two Dutch members' seats on the European Economic and Social Committee have fallen vacant following the resignations of Mr SLOOTWEG and Mr ETTY, HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Mr MEIJER and Ms VAN WEZEL are hereby appointed members of the European Economic and Social Committee in place of Mr SLOOTWEG and Mr ETTY for the remainder of their term of office, which runs until 20 September 2010.

Article 2

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

It shall take effect on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 25 May 2007.

For the Council
The President
A. SCHAVAN