COUNCIL DECISION

of 16 April 2007

appointing four Czech members and four Czech alternate members to the Committee of the Regions

(2007/261/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 263 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Czech Government,

Whereas:

- (1) On 24 January 2006, the Council adopted Decision 2006/116/EC appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2006 to 25 January 2010 (¹).
- (2) Four members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the expiry of the mandates of Mr Petr GANDALOVIČ, Mr Jaroslav HANÁK, Ms Helena LANGŠÁDLOVÁ and Mr Tomáš ÚLEHLA. Four alternate members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the expiry of the mandates of Ms Květa HALANOVÁ, Mr Luboš PRŮŠA, Mr Martin TESAŘÍK and Mr Jiří BYTEL,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2010:

- (a) as members:
 - Mr Jan KUBATA, Mayor of the City of Ústí n. Labem,
 in place of Mr Petr GANDALOVIČ,
 - Mr Juraj THOMA, Mayor of the City of České Budjovice,
 in place of Mr Jaroslav HANÁK,
 - Ms Helena LANGŠÁDLOVÁ, Vice-Mayor of the Municipality of Černošice, Středočeský kraj,

in place of Ms Helena LANGŠÁDLOVÁ, Mayor of the Municipality of Černošice, Středočeský kraj, and

— Mr Jiří BYTEL,

in place of Mr Tomáš ÚLEHLA;

and

- (b) as alternate members:
 - Mr Tomáš ÚLEHLA,

in place of Mr Jiří BYTEL,

 Ms Jana ČERMÁKOVÁ, Vice-Mayor of the Municipality of Proboštov,

in place of Ms Květa HALANOVÁ,

- Ms Ivana STRÁSKÁ, Vice-Mayor of the City of Milevsko,

in place of Mr Luboš PRŮŠA, and

— Ms Sylva KOVÁČIKOVÁ, Mayor of the City of Bílovec,

in place of Mr Martin TESAŘÍK.

Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 16 April 2007.

For the Council
The President
H. SEEHOFER