### **COUNCIL DECISION**

## of 19 November 2004

# appointing the President and Members of the Commission of the European Communities

(2004/780/EC, Euratom)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 213(1) and the third subparagraph of Article 214(2) thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 126(1) and the third subparagraph of Article 127(2) thereof,

### Whereas:

- A new Commission, consisting of one national of each (1)Member State, must be appointed for the period from the date of its appointment to 31 October 2009.
- (2)On 29 June 2004 the Council, meeting in the composition of the Heads of State or Government, nominated Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO as the person it intends to appoint as President of the Commission (1).
- The European Parliament approved that nomination by (3)its Resolution dated 22 July 2004.
- By Decision 2004/753/EC, Euratom (2), which repeals (4)and replaces Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom (3) the Council adopted by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission.
- By means of a vote held on 18 November 2004, the (5) European Parliament gave its approval to the appointment of the President and the other Members of the Commission as a college.
- The President and other Members of the Commission (6)should therefore be appointed.
- The entry into force of the Treaty establishing a Consti-(7)tution for Europe will entail the expiry of the term of the Member of the Commission who has the same nationality as the future European Union Minister for Foreign Affairs, who will be Vice-President of the Commission,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

### Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Commission of the European Communities for the period from 22 November 2004 to 31 October 2009:

— as President:

Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO

as members:

Mr Joaquín ALMUNIA AMANN

Mr Jacques BARROT

Mr Joe BORG

Mr Stavros DIMAS

Ms Benita FERRERO-WALDNER

Mr Ján FIGEĽ

Ms Mariann FISCHER BOEL

Mr Franco FRATTINI

Ms Dalia GRYBAUSKAITĖ

Ms Danuta HÜBNER

Mr Siim KALLAS

Mr László KOVÁCS

Ms Neelie KROES

Mr Markos KYPRIANOU

Mr Peter MANDELSON

Mr Charlie McCREEVY

Mr Louis MICHEL

Mr Andris PIEBALGS

Mr Janez POTOČNIK

Ms Viviane REDING

<sup>(</sup>¹) OJ L 236, 7.7.2004, p. 15. (²) OJ L 333, 9.11.2004, p. 12.

<sup>(3)</sup> OJ L 294, 17.9.2004, p. 30.

Mr Olli REHN

Mr Vladimír ŠPIDLA

Mr Günter VERHEUGEN

Ms Margot WALLSTRÖM.

Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on 22 November 2004.

Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, 19 November 2004.

For the Council The President J. P. H. DONNER