II

(Acts whose publication is not obligatory)

COUNCIL

COUNCIL DECISION

of 5 May 2004

appointing Members of the Commission of the European Communities

(2004/492/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded, and in particular Article 45(2)(a) and (b) thereof,

By common accord with the President of the Commission,

Whereas:

In keeping with its wishes, the European Parliament has heard the nominees,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed Members of the Commission for the period from 1 May 2004 to 31 October 2004:

Mr Pavel TELIČKA Mr Péter BALÁZS
Mr Siim KALLAS Mr Joe BORG
Mr Marcos KYPRIANOU Ms Danuta HÜBNER
Ms Sandra KALNIETE Mr Janez POTOČNIK
Ms Dalia GRYBAUSKAITÉ Mr Jan FIGEĽ.

Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union. It shall apply as from 1 May 2004.

Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union. Done at Brussels, 5 May 2004.

For the Council
B. COWEN
The President