COMMISSION REGULATION (EC) No 510/1999

of 8 March 1999

amending Regulation (EC) No 2848/98 on the raw tobacco sector as regards the setting of certain time limits and Annex II in which the production areas are fixed

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EEC) No 2075/92 of 30 June 1992 on the common organisation of the market in raw tobacco (1), as last amended by Regulation (EC) No 1636/98 (2), and in particular Articles 7 and 11 thereof.

Whereas, in the absence of a Council decision on the Commission proposal (3) setting the maximum guarantee thresholds for the 1999, 2000 and 2001 harvests, for the 1999 harvest the Member States cannot meet the time limits for issuing quota statements to producers or the time limits for concluding cultivation contracts fixed by Commission Regulation (EC) No 2848/98 of 22 December 1998 laying down detailed rules for the application of Council Regulation (EEC) No 2075/92 as regards the premium scheme, production quotas and the specific aid to be granted to producer groups in the raw tobacco sector (4); whereas these time limits must be postponed;

Whereas, in accordance with Article 5(a) of Regulation (EEC) No 2075/92, the grant of the premium is subject to the condition that the leaf tobacco comes from a specified production area for each variety;

Whereas these areas of production, in accordance with Article 8 of Regulation (EC) No 2848/98, are fixed in Annex II to that Regulation;

Whereas, following France's request to include Île de France in the list of Group II production areas it was noticed that Île de France already existed in a number of language versions but that the regions of Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Picardy, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy and Réunion were missing, and following Germany's request to include 'Mecklenburg-Vorpommern' in the list of Group III production areas without the word 'westliches', Annex II to Regulation (EC) No 2848/98, listing the recognised production areas, should be corrected;

Whereas these measures should be applied forthwith;

Whereas the measures provided for in this Regulation are in accordance with the opinion of the Management Committee for Tobacco,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

Regulation (EC) No 2848/98 is amended as follows:

1. the following paragraphs 2 and 3 are added to Article 55:

'2. For the 1999 harvest, by derogation from Article 22(3), the Member States shall issue the quota statements to individual producers who are not members of a group and to producer groups by 15 April at the latest.

For the 1999 harvest, by derogation from Article 3. 10(1), the cultivation contracts must be concluded, except in cases of *force majeure*, by 30 June at the latest.';

2. Annex II is replaced by the Annex to this Regulation.

Article 2

This Regulation shall enter into force on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 8 March 1999.

For the Commission Franz FISCHLER Member of the Commission

 ^{(&}lt;sup>1</sup>) OJ L 215, 30. 7. 1992, p. 70.
(²) OJ L 210, 20. 7. 1998, p. 23.
(³) OJ C 361, 24. 11. 1998, p. 16.
(⁴) OJ L 358, 31. 12. 1998, p. 17.

EN

ANNEX

'ANNEX II

RECOGNISED PRODUCTION AREAS

Group of varieties in accordance with the Annex to Regulation (EEC) No 2075/92		Member State	Production areas
I.	Flue-cured	Germany	Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony, Bavaria, Rheinland- Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg, Hessen, Saarland, Branden- burg, Mecklenburg-Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia
		Greece	Thrace, Eastern Macedonia, Central Macedonia, Western Macedonia, Thessaly, Epirus, Eastern Central Greece, Western Central Greece, Peloponnese
		France	Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Auvergne-Limousin, Cham- pagne-Ardenne, Alsace-Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes, Franche- Comté, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Loire Region, Centre, Poitou-Charente, Brittany, Languedoc-Roussillon, Normandy, Burgundy, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Picardy, Île-de-France
		Italy	Friuli, Veneto, Lombardy, Piedmont, Tuscany, Marche, Umbria, Lazio, Abruzzi, Molise, Campania, Basilicata, Apulia, Calabria
		Spain	Extremadura, Andalusia, Castile-Leon, Castile-La Mancha
		Portugal	Beira Interior, Ribatejo Oeste, Alentejo, Autonomous Region of the Azores
		Austria	Burgenland, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Styria
II.	Light air-cured	Belgium	Flanders, Hainaut, Namur, Luxembourg
		Germany	Bavaria, Rheinland-Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg, Hessen, Saarland, Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia
		Greece	Eastern Macedonia, Central Macedonia, Western Mace- donia, Thessaly
		France	Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Auvergne-Limousin, Alsace- Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Franche-Comté, Loire Region, Centre, Poitou-Charente, Brittany, Burgundy, Languedoc-Roussillon, Champagne- Ardenne, Picardy, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Réunion and Ile-de-France
		Italy	Veneto, Lombardy, Piedmont, Umbria, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Abruzzi, Molise, Campania, Basilicata, Apulia, Sicily, Friuli, Tuscany, Marche
		Spain	Extremadura, Andalusia, Castile-Leon, Castile-La Mancha
		Portugal	Beiras, Ribatejo Oeste, Entre Douro e Minho, Trás-os- Montes, Autonomous Region of the Azores
		Austria	Burgenland, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Styria
III.	Dark air-cured	Belgium	Flanders, Hainaut, Namur, Luxembourg
		Germany	Rheinland-Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg, Hessen, Saarland, Bavaria, Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia

EN

Т

Т

Group of varieties in accordance with the Annex to Regulation (EEC) No 2075/92	Member State	Production areas
	France	Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Languedoc-Roussillon, Auvergne-Limousin, Poitou-Charente, Brittany, Loire Region, Centre, Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Franche-Comté, Alsace-Lorraine, Champagne- Ardenne, Picardy, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Burgundy, Réunion
	Italy	Friuli, Trentino, Veneto, Tuscany, Lazio, Molise, Campania, Apulia, Sicily
	Spain	Extremadura, Andalusia, Castile-Leon, Castile-La Mancha, Valencia (Autonomous Community), Navarre, Rioja, Catal- onia, Madrid, Galicia, Asturias, Cantabria, area of Compezo in the Basque Country, La Palma (Canary Islands)
	Austria	Burgenland, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Styria
IV. Fire-cured	Italy Spain	Veneto, Tuscany, Umbria, Lazio, Campania, Marche Extremadura, Andalusia
V. Sun-cured	Greece	Western Macedonia, Thessaly, Epirus, Eastern Central Greece, Western Central Greece, Peloponnese, Thrace and islands
	Italy	Lazio, Abruzzi, Molise, Campania, Basilicata, Apulia, Sicily
VI. Basmas	Greece	Thrace, Eastern Macedonia, Central Macedonia, Western Macedonia, Thessaly, Western Central Greece
VII. Katerini and similar varieties	Greece	Eastern Macedonia, Central Macedonia, Western Mace- donia, Thessaly, Epirus, Eastern Central Greece, Western Central Greece
VIII. Kaba Koulak classic, Elassona, Myrodata de Agrinion, Zichnomyro- data	Greece	Eastern Macedonia, Central Macedonia, Western Mace- donia, Thessaly, Epirus, Eastern Central Greece, Western Central Greece, Peloponnese and islands, Thrace'