COUNCIL DECISION of 4 October 1999 appointing five members of the Committee of the Regions

(1999/668/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 263 thereof,

Having regard to the Council Decision of 26 January 1998 (¹) appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions,

Whereas a seat as a member and four seats as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the resignations of Mr Sergio Marqués, full member, and of Ms Carmen Álvarez-Arenas Cisneros, Mr Isaías López Andueza, Mr Leonardo Verdín Bouza and Mr José María Aracama Yoldi, alternate members, as notified to the Council on 19 August 1999 and 13 September 1999,

Having regard to the proposals from the Spanish Government,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Sole Article

The following shall be appointed:

- (a) full member of the Committee of the Regions: Mr Vicente Alvarez Areces to replace Mr Sergio Marqués,
- (b) alternate members of the Committee of the Regions: Mr José Luis Raniero González Vallve to replace Mr Isaías López Andueza, Mr Manuel Cobo Vega to replace Ms Carmen Álvarez-Arenas Cisneros, Mr Jaime Hevia Ruiz to replace Mr Leonardo Verdín Bouza, Mr Francisco Iribarren Fentanes to replace Mr José María Aracama Yoldi,

for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2002.

Done at Luxembourg, 4 October 1999.

For the Council The President K. HÄKÄMIES