COMMISSION

COMMISSION DECISION

of 8 January 1998

recognising certain third countries and certain areas of third countries as being free of *Xanthomonas campestris* (all strains pathogenic to Citrus), *Cercospora angolensis* Carv. et Mendes and *Guignardia citricarpa* Kiely (all strains pathogenic to Citrus)

(98/83/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 77/93/EEC of 21 December 1976 on protective measures against the introduction into the Community of organisms harmful to plants or plant products and against their spread within the Community (¹), as last amended by Commission Directive 97/14/EC (²), and in particular Annex IV, Part A, Section I, points 16.2, 16.3 and 16.3(a) thereof,

Whereas Annex IV, Part A, Section I, points 16.2, 16.3 and 16.3(a) contain a reference to fruits of *Citrus* L., *Fortunella* Swingle, *Poncirus* Raf., and their hybrids, originating in third countries where *Xanthomonas campestris* (all strains pathogenic to Citrus), *Cercospora angolensis* Carv. et Mendes or *Guignardia citricarpa* Kiely (all strains pathogenic to Citrus) are known to occur:

Whereas these provisions should be reinforced; whereas one way of doing so is to determine the third countries which are recognised as being free of *Xanthomonas campestris* (all strains pathogenic to Citrus), *Cercospora angolensis* Carv. et Mendes and *Guignardia citricarpa* Kiely (all strains pathogenic to Citrus) and to determine the areas free of those harmful organisms in the third countries where they are known to occur;

Considering the information provided by the European and Mediterranean Plant Protection Organisation and the 'Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International';

Whereas this Decision is without prejudice to any subsequent discovery that one or more of the respective harmful organisms occur in the third countries or areas of third countries concerned;

(¹) OJ L 26, 31. 1. 1977, p. 20. (²) OJ L 87, 2. 4. 1997, p. 17. Whereas the Commission will ensure that the third countries concerned provide all the technical information necessary for monitoring the situation;

Whereas the measure provided for in this Decision is in accordance with the opinion of the Standing Committee on Plant Health,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

It is hereby declared that the following third countries are recognized as being free of all strains of *Xanthomonas campestris* pathogenic to Citrus:

- all citrus-growing countries in the Euro-Mediterranean region, including Europe, Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Israel, Libya, Malta, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey,
- in Africa: South Africa, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Sudan, Swaziland and Zimbabwe,
- in Central and South America and the Caribbean: the Bahamas, Belize, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, El Salvador, Surinam and Venezuela.

Article 2

It is hereby declared that the following areas are recognized as being free of all strains of *Xanthomonas campestris* pathogenic to Citrus:

- in Argentina: Catamarca, Jujuy, Salta and Tucumán,
- in Australia: New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and Victoria,
- in Brazil: São Paulo, with the exception of Presidente Prudente,

- in the United States: Arizona, California, Florida (with the exception of Dade County and Manatee County), Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Texas and the United States Virgin Islands,
- all areas of Uruguay, with the exception of the Departments Salto, Rivera and Paysandu — north of River Chapicuy.

Article 3

It is hereby declared that the following third countries are recognized as being free of *Cercospora angolensis* Carv. et Mendes:

- all citrus-growing third countries in North, Central and South America, the Caribbean, Asia (with the exception of Yemen), Europe and Oceania,
- all citrus-growing third countries in Africa, with the exception of Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Guinea, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Article 4

It is hereby declared that the following third countries are recognized as being free of all strains of *Guignardia citricarpa* Kiely pathogenic to Citrus:

— all citrus-growing third countries in North, Central and South America, the Caribbean and Europe,

- all citrus-growing third countries in Asia, with the exception of Bhutan, China, Indonesia, Philippines and Taiwan,
- all citrus-growing third countries in Africa, with the exception of South Africa, Kenya, Mozambique, Zambia and Zimbabwe,
- all citrus-growing third countries in Oceania, with the exception of Australia, New Zealand and Vanuatu.

Article 5

It is hereby declared that the following areas are recognized as being free of all strains of *Guignardia citricarpa* Kiely pathogenic to Citrus:

- in South Africa: Western Cape,
- in Australia: South Australia, Western Australia and Northern Territory,
- in China: all areas with the exception of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guangdong, Fujian and Zhejiang.

Article 6

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 8 January 1998.

For the Commission
Franz FISCHLER
Member of the Commission