II

(Acts whose publication is not obligatory)

COMMISSION

COMMISSION DECISION

of 16 May 1997

on the appointment of members of the European Consultative Forum on the environment and sustainable development

(Text with EEA relevance)

(97/307/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES.

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Commission Decision 97/150/EC of 24 February 1997 on the setting up of a European Consultative Forum on the environment and sustainable development (1), and in particular Articles 4 and 7 (1) thereof,

Whereas the members of the European Consultative Forum on the environment and sustainable development are to be appointed by the Commission in the light of recommendations from organizations representing each sector concerned at Community level:

Whereas it is necessary to appoint 32 Members of the Forum for a period of four years;

Whereas it is necessary that the Commission designate a chairman from among the members of the Forum for a period of two years,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following are appointed as members of the European Consultative Forum on the environment and sustainable development:

Maria Buitenkamp	Per Kågeson	Giorgio Porta
Willy Buschak	Jens Kampmann	Teresa Presas
Margarida Cancela d'Abreu	Klaus Kohlhase	Fiona Reynolds
Carmen de Andrés	Jacques Kummer	Jean Salmon
Oliver Doubleday	Arunas Kundrotas	Thorvald Stoltenberg
Brigitte Ederer	Bedrich Moldan	Uno Svedin
John Elkington	Armando Montanari	Margaret Sweeney
Sylvie Faucheux	Joaquín Nieto Sainz	Laurence Tubiana
Marco Gaasch	Hannu Nilsen	Silvia Zamboni
Ralph Hallo	Thymio Papayannis	Tomasz Zylicz
Thomas Immelmann	Ingolf Pernice	

⁽¹⁾ OI No L 58, 27. 2. 1997, p. 48.

Article 2

Thorvald Stoltenberg is designated as chairman of the European Consultative Forum on the environment and sustainable development for a period of two years.

Done at Brussels, 16 May 1997.

For the Commission
Ritt BJERREGAARD

Member of the Commission