## New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2020/C 53/03)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Estonia

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (¹). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (²), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Estonia

Subject of commemoration: The centenary of the Tartu Peace Treaty

**Description of the design**: The treaty was signed between Estonia and Soviet Russia on 2 February 1920, and it fixed the Eastern border of Estonia, bringing an end to the War of Independence.

The design depicts a tree with branches disguising the words TARTU RAHU (Tartu Peace Treaty). Ity also bears the country name 'EESTI' and the date of issue '2 February 2020'.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Estimated number of coins to be issued: 1 000 000

Date of issue: 2 February 2020

<sup>(1)</sup> See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

<sup>(</sup>e) See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).