Official Journal of the European Union

C 174/7

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2018/C 174/08)


Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (1). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (2), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country : Malta

Subject of commemoration : Unesco World Heritage Site — Temples of Mnajdra

Description of the design : The design features the Maltese prehistoric temples of Mnajdra, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Mnajdra is a prehistoric site consisting of three temples nestled around an oval forecourt. It is situated on the Southern coast of Malta, some 500 meters away from Hagar Qim. Mnajdra is best known for its astronomical alignments and the South temple seems to have been constructed to mark the sunrise on the equinox and the solstice. The Oldest parts of this complex date around 3 600-3 200 BC. At the top right of the design there are the inscriptions ‘MNAJDRA’, ‘TEMPLES’ and the years ‘3 600-2 500 BC’, one underneath the other. At the bottom left there is the name of the issuing country ‘MALTA’ and underneath there is the year of issuance ‘2018’.

The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Number of coins to be issued :

Date of issue : July 2018

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

(2)  See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).