Accept Refuse

EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Document C2017/023/06

New national sides of euro circulation coins

OJ C 23, 24.1.2017, p. 6–6 (BG, ES, CS, DA, DE, ET, EL, EN, FR, HR, IT, LV, LT, HU, MT, NL, PL, PT, RO, SK, SL, FI, SV)



Official Journal of the European Union

C 23/6

New national sides of euro circulation coins

(2017/C 23/06)

Euro circulation coins have legal tender status throughout the euro area. The Commission publishes all new euro coin designs (1) with a view to informing all parties required to handle coins in the course of their work as well as the public at large.





1 euro cent

2 euro cent

5 euro cent

10 euro cent





20 euro cent

50 euro cent

1 euro

2 euro

Issuing country: Vatican City State

Date of issue: March 2017

Description of the designs The designs feature the coat of arms of the Sovereign of the Vatican City State, Pope Francis. The mintmark ‘R’ appears at the botoom left and the year of issuance ‘2017’ at the bottom right.

The coins’ outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

The edge-lettering of the 2-euro coin is: 2 *, repeated six times, alternately upright and inverted.

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1, OJ C 254, 20.10.2006, p. 6 and OJ C 248, 23.10.2007, p. 8 for a reference to the other euro coins.