EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Document C/2024/02355

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation


OJ C, C/2024/2355, 21.3.2024, ELI: (BG, ES, CS, DA, DE, ET, EL, EN, FR, GA, HR, IT, LV, LT, HU, MT, NL, PL, PT, RO, SK, SL, FI, SV)


European flag

Official Journal
of the European Union


Series C



New national side of euro coins intended for circulation


Image 1

National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Germany

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (1). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009  (2), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Germany

Subject of commemoration: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Description of the design: The coin is dedicated to the German state (Land) of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. It is the second issuance in the second series of German 2-euro commemorative coins featuring the German states, or Länder. Each year, a coin pays tribute to one of the 16 Länder by depicting a significant building or landmark. The order of the states is based on the rotating presidency of the Bundesrat, which is one of the five permanent constitutional bodies of the Federal Republic of Germany and represents the interests of the Länder. The design shows the Königsstuhl, an iconic formation of chalk cliffs and beech forest located in Jasmund National Park on the island of Rügen. The cliffs are depicted from the perspective of the shoreline, thereby highlighting the monumentality of this unique natural landmark in a particularly effective manner. The beautifully detailed image provides scale through the combined rendering of sea, birdlife and humankind. The modern typography, in harmony with the flying seagull, is skilfully integrated into the relief. The upper half of the coin’s inner circle features the inscription ‘MECKLENBURG VORPOMMERN’, the year of issue ‘2024’, Germany’s issuing country code ‘D’ and, at the upper right, the letter ‘X’ as placeholder for the mint mark of the respective mint (‘A’, ‘D’, ‘F’, ‘G’ or ‘J’). The initials of the artist Michael Otto (from Rodenbach, Germany) are shown in the lower half of the inner circle.

The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Estimated number of coins to be issued: 30 000 000

Date of issue: January 2024

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

(2)  See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).


ISSN 1977-091X (electronic edition)