EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website


Set up in 2002, Eurojust is an EU agency entrusted with reinforcing the fight against serious crime through closer judicial cooperation within the EU. Its seat is in The Hague. It is composed of a college of 28 national members, who are experienced judges, prosecutors, or police officers of equivalent competence from each EU country.

Article 85 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU provided a basis for the further development of Eurojust, extending its scope to include serious crime not only affecting 2 or more countries but also requiring a prosecution on common bases. Using the ordinary legislative procedure, the Parliament and the Council determine Eurojust’s structure, operation, and tasks, which may include initiating criminal investigations or proposing the initiation of prosecutions.

Eurojust also co-operates with non-EU countries and other EU bodies such as the European Judicial Network, Europol and the European Anti-fraud Office (OLAF).