EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Document C2019/409/06

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation2019/C 409/06


OJ C 409, 5.12.2019, p. 53–53 (BG, ES, CS, DA, DE, ET, EL, EN, FR, HR, IT, LV, LT, HU, MT, NL, PL, PT, RO, SK, SL, FI, SV)



Official Journal of the European Union

C 409/53

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2019/C 409/06)

Image 1

National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Andorra

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (1). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (2), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Andorra

Subject of commemoration: 600 years of the Council of the Land

Description of the design: The design commemorates the 600th anniversary of the creation of the Consell de la Terra (Council of the Land). It was a representative body created in 1419, predecessor of the Consell General (General Council), the parliament of Andorra.

The design depicts the upper part of the entry portal of Casa de la Vall (the parliament’s old seat), with the coat of arms of the country and a fragment of a window above it. Two compact groups of human faces on both sides of the design, as if they were stones of the building, mean the cohesion of Andorrans as a social community united in history, institutions and values.

The inscription ‘600 ANYS DEL CONSELL DE LA TERRA’ (600 years of the Council of the Land) at the top, and the name of the issuing country ‘ANDORRA’ and both year dates ‘1419’ and ‘2019’ in the middle of the number ‘600’ below complete the design.

The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Estimated number of coins to be issued: 60 000

Date of issue: 4th quarter 2019

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

(2)  See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).