EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

Back to EUR-Lex homepage

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

Document C2018/466/06

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

OJ C 466, 28.12.2018, p. 15–15 (BG, ES, CS, DA, DE, ET, EL, EN, FR, HR, IT, LV, LT, HU, MT, NL, PL, PT, RO, SK, SL, FI, SV)



Official Journal of the European Union

C 466/15

New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2018/C 466/06)


National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Belgium

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (1). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (2), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuance of euro coins are authorised to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, one of these being that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country : Belgium

Subject of commemoration : The 450th anniversary of the death of Pieter Bruegel the Elder

Description of the design : The inner part of the piece depicts the portrait of the famous Belgian artist Pieter Bruegel the Elder, together with a painting on an easel. Above this, you can find the name P. Bruegel, the years 1569, with a subtle obelisk referring to the year of death, and 2019, the year of issuance.

As the Royal Dutch Mint will strike the coins, the mintmark of Utrecht, a mercury staff is located on the left together with the Belgian mint director mintmark, the coat of arms of the municipality Herzele, the country code BE. The initials LL referring to the designer of the coin, Mr Luc Luycx, are located on the right. Finally, around the edge of the inner part small dots form a circle.

The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Number of coins to be issued : 155 000 coins

Date of issue : January 2019

(1)  See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

(2)  See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).