Accept Refuse

EUR-Lex Access to European Union law

This document is an excerpt from the EUR-Lex website

60 Years of the Rome Treaties

The Treaties of Rome were signed in Rome on 25 March 1957 by the six founding Member States and came into force on 1 January 1958:

  • the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, also referred to as the EEC Treaty, established the European Economic Community (EEC);
  • the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, also referred to as the Euratom Treaty, established the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom).

The Rome Treaties set the foundations for the Europe that we have today.

The EU Heads of State or Government will meet in Rome on the 25th of March 2017 to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the signing of the two treaties. They will reflect on past achievements and debate what our shared future could and should look like.

List of documents

Treaties of Rome

White paper on the future of Europe

Summaries of EU Legislation

Glossary terms of the Summaries of EU Legislation

Related Sites