New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2011/C 5/06)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by Slovakia

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (¹). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (²), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the Community providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: Slovakia

Subject of commemoration: The 20th anniversary of the formation of the Visegrad Group

Description of the design:

The inner part of the coin depicts a map of the four countries that comprise the Visegrad Group: the Republic of Poland, the Czech Republic, the Slovak Republic, and the Republic of Hungary. The map is supplemented by a stylized abbreviation 'V IV'. The name of the issuing country, 'SLOVENSKO', is located in the lower right part and the year '2011' is in the lower left part of the coin field. The design is surrounded by the legend 'VYŠEHRADSKÁ SKUPINA • VISEGRAD GROUP' and the date of the Visegrad Group foundation '15.2.1991'. The initials of the author of the coin's design, Miroslav Rónai 'MR', and the mark of the Kremnica Mint, 'MK', appear under the name of the country.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European Union flag.

Volume of issuance: 1 million coins

Date of issue: January 2011

⁽¹⁾ See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

⁽²⁾ See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).