New national side of euro coins intended for circulation

(2013/C 379/10)



National side of the new commemorative 2-euro coin intended for circulation and issued by the Netherlands

Euro coins intended for circulation have legal tender status throughout the euro area. For the purpose of informing the public and all parties who handle the coins, the Commission publishes a description of the designs of all new coins (¹). In accordance with the Council conclusions of 10 February 2009 (²), euro-area Member States and countries that have concluded a monetary agreement with the European Union providing for the issuing of euro coins are allowed to issue commemorative euro coins intended for circulation, provided that certain conditions are met, particularly that only the 2-euro denomination is used. These coins have the same technical characteristics as other 2-euro coins, but their national face features a commemorative design that is highly symbolic in national or European terms.

Issuing country: The Netherlands

Subject of commemoration: 200 years Kingdom of the Netherlands

Description of the design:

The inner part of the design shows a continuing ribbon that starts from the outside depicting the effigy of King Willem-Alexander and continues to depict the effigies of his six predecessors: Queen Beatrix, Queen Juliana, Queen Wilhelmina, King Willem II, King Willem II and King Willem I. The effigies are surrounded by the inscription 'Willem-Alexander Koning der Nederlanden' followed by the Royal Dutch mintmark, the mint master mark, the year 2013, the initials of the designer and at the left side of the effigies the inscription '200 jaar Koninkrijk der Nederlanden'.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Number of coins to be issued: 3,5 million

Date of issue: November 2013

⁽¹⁾ See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1 for the national faces of all the coins issued in 2002.

⁽²⁾ See the conclusions of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 10 February 2009 and the Commission Recommendation of 19 December 2008 on common guidelines for the national sides and the issuance of euro coins intended for circulation (OJ L 9, 14.1.2009, p. 52).