EN

COMMISSION DELEGATED REGULATION (EU) No 531/2014

of 12 March 2014

amending Annex I of Regulation (EU) No 211/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the citizens' initiative

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) No 211/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 February 2011 on the citizens' initiative (¹), and in particular Article 7(3) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Article 7(2) of Regulation (EU) No 211/2011 provides that, in at least one quarter of Member States, the minimum number of signatories of a citizens' initiative should correspond to the number of the Members of the European Parliament elected in each Member State, multiplied by 750. Those minimum numbers are set out in Annex I of the Regulation.
- (2) On 28 June 2013 the European Council adopted European Council Decision 2013/312/EU establishing the composition of the European Parliament (²). That decision which entered into force on 30 June 2013 sets the number of representatives in the European Parliament elected in each Member State for the 2014-2019 parliamentary term. The 2014-2019 parliamentary term begins on 1 July 2014.
- (3) Annex I of Regulation (EU) No 211/2011 should be amended accordingly,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

Annex I of Regulation (EU) No 211/2011 is replaced by the Annex to this Regulation.

Article 2

This Regulation shall enter into force on the 20th day following that of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

It shall apply from 1 July 2014.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 12 March 2014.

For the Commission The President José Manuel BARROSO

^{(&}lt;sup>1</sup>) OJL 65, 11.3.2011, p. 1.

⁽²⁾ OJ L 181, 29.6.2013, p. 57.

EN

ANNEX

Minimum number of signatories per Member State

Belgium	15 750
Bulgaria	12 750
Czech Republic	15 750
Denmark	9 750
Germany	72 000
Estonia	4 500
Ireland	8 250
Greece	15 750
Spain	40 500
France	55 500
Croatia	8 250
Italy	54 750
Cyprus	4 500
Latvia	6 000
Lithuania	8 250
Luxembourg	4 500
Hungary	15 750
Malta	4 500
Netherlands	19 500
Austria	13 500
Poland	38 250
Portugal	15 750
Romania	24 000
Slovenia	6 000
Slovakia	9 750
Finland	9 750
Sweden	15 000
United Kingdom	54 750