COMMISSION DECISION

of 18 July 2001

amending Decision 1999/283/EC concerning the animal health conditions and veterinary certification for imports of fresh meat from certain African countries to take account of the animal health situation in South Africa

(notified under document number C(2001) 1977)

(Text with EEA relevance)

(2001/601/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 72/462/EEC, of 12 December 1972, on health and veterinary inspection problems on importation of bovine, ovine and caprine animals and swine, fresh meat or meat products from third countries (1), as last amended by Directive 97/79/EC (2), in particular Article 14(3) and Article 22 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The animal health conditions and veterinary certification for imports of fresh meat from certain African countries are laid down by Commission Decision 1999/283/EC (3), as last amended by Decision 2001/297/EC (4).
- Imports of fresh meat from South Africa have been (2) possible since this country has been regionalised and a free region without vaccination was recognised by the European Community as officially free of foot-andmouth disease.
- The responsible veterinary authorities of the concerned (3) countries must confirm that their country or regions have been free from rinderpest and foot-and-mouth disease for at least 12 months; furthermore, the responsible authorities of the concerned countries must undertake to notify the Commission and the Member States within 24 hours, by fax, telex or telegram of the confirmation of any occurrence of the abovementioned diseases, or of an alteration in the vaccination policy against them.

- Following outbreaks of foot-and-mouse disease in parts of the free territory the Commission adopted Decision 2001/164/EC (5), further regionalising the country.
- The competent authorities of South Africa have (5) requested that the current regionalisation is amended to reflect changes in the administrative names of these regions.
- Decision 1999/283/EC must be amended accordingly. (6)
- The measures provided for in this Decision are in (7) accordance with the opinion of the Standing Veterinary Committee,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Annex I to Decision 1999/283/EC is replaced by the Annex to this Decision.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 18 July 2001.

For the Commission David BYRNE Member of the Commission

OJ L 302, 31.12.1972, p. 28.

OJ L 24, 30.1.1998, p. 31. OJ L 110, 28.4.1999, p. 16. OJ L 102, 12.4.2001, p. 61.

ANNEX

'ANNEX I

DESCRIPTION OF TERRITORIES OF CERTAIN AFRICAN COUNTRIES ESTABLISHED FOR ANIMAL HEALTH CERTIFICATION PURPOSES

Country	Code of territory	Version	Description of territory
Botswana	BW	01/99	The whole country
	BW-01	01/99	Veterinary disease control zones, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 18
Morocco	MA	01/99	The whole country
Madagascar	MG	01/99	The whole country
Namibia	NA	01/99	The whole country
	NA-01	01/00	South of the cordon fences which extends from Palgrave Point in the west to Gam in the east
Swaziland	SZ	01/99	The whole country
	SZ-01	01/99	Area west of the "red line" fences which extends northwards from the river Usutu to the frontier with South Africa west of Nkalashane
South Africa	ZA	01/99	The whole country
	ZA-01	02/01	Republic of South Africa excluding: — the part of the foot-and-mouth disease control area situated in the veterinary regions of Mpumalanga and Northern provinces, in the district of Ingwavuma of the veterinary region of Natal and in the border area with Botswana east of longitude 28°, and — the districts of Camperdown, Pietermaritzburg, Lions River, New Hanover, Umvoti, Kranskop, Mapumulo, Ndwedwe, Lower Tugela, Inanda, Pinetown, Durban, (including the metropolitan area of Durban), Chatswoth, Umzali, Umbumbulu and Richmond in the province of KwaZulu-Natal
Zimbabwe	ZW	01/99	The whole country
	ZW-01	01/99	Veterinary regions of Mashonaland West province, Mashonaland East province (including Chikomba district), Mashonaland Central province, Manicaland province (including only Makoni district), Midlands province (including only the Gweru, Kwekwe, Shurugwi, Chirimanzu and Zvishavane districts), Masvingo province (including only the districts of Gutu and Masvingo), Matabeleland South province (including only the Insiza, Bullimamangwe, Umzingwamange, Gwanda and West Nicholson districts) and Matabeleland north province (including only the districts of Bubi and Umgusa)'