COMMISSION DECISION

of 11 March 2003

establishing the European Community Energy Star Board

(2003/168/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES.

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 175(1) thereof,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 2422/2001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 6 November 2001 on a Community energy efficiency labelling programme for office equipment (1), and in particular Article 8(1) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) In compliance with Regulation (EC) No 2422/2001, the Commission should establish a European Community Energy Star Board (hereinafter referred to as the 'ECESB') to carry out the EC Energy Star programme, as defined in the Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the European Community on the coordination of energy efficient labelling programmes for office equipment (²).
- (2) The ECESB should consist of national representatives, as defined by Regulation (EC) No 2422/2001 and of the interested parties listed on an indicative basis in that Regulation,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The European Community Energy Star Board 'ECESB' is hereby established.

Article 2

- 1. The Chair of the ECESB shall be held by the Commission, represented by the Directorate General for Energy and Transport.
- 2. The indicative list of the national representatives referred to in Article 9 of Regulation (EC) No 2422/2001 shall be as set out in Part A of the Annex.

Where more than one national representative is designated, the 'coordinator' shall be the representative empowered by the Member State as indicated in the Annex.

- 3. The indicative list of the interested Parties referred to in Article 8(3) of Regulation (EC) No 2422/2001 shall be as set out in Part B of the Annex.
- 4. In order to ensure a balanced participation of all relevant interested Parties in respect to each office equipment product group, the Chair may adapt the membership of interested Parties as appropriate.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the seventh day following that of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, 11 March 2003.

For the Commission Loyola DE PALACIO Vice-President

ANNEX

INDICATIVE LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE ECESB

PART A

National representatives

A	Abteilung IV/3 Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Arbeit	Mr. Matthias BRUNNER DiplIng. (coordinator)
	EVA - Austrian Energy Agency	Mr Herbert RITTER
В	Administration de l'Energie du Ministère des Affaires Economiques; Division Gaz-Electricité	Mr Luc MICHIELS
DK	Danish Energy Agency	Mrs Anette GYDESEN
FIN	Ministry of Trade and Industry	Ms Veera PEDERSEN (coordinator)
	Motiva Oy	Mr Heikki HÄRKÖNEN
F	MINEFI/DGEMP - Télédoc 161	Mrs Evelyne BISSON (coordinator)
	Ademe - Centre de Sophia Antipolis	Mr Alain ANGLADE
D	Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie	Dr Wolfgang STINGLWAGNER (coordinator)
	Deutsche Energie-Agentur	Dr Christiane DUDDA
EL	Ministry for Development	Mr Dimitrios NOMIDIS (coordinator)
	Ministry for Development	Mr Dimitrios TSALEMIS
IRL	Sustainable Energy Ireland	Mr Tom HALPIN
	Sustainable Energy Ireland	Mrs Antonia SHIELDS
I	Segreteria Tecnica della DGERM, Ministerio delle Attività Produttive	Mr Dario CHELLO (coordinator)
	ENEA Ispra	Mrs Milena PRESUTTO
L	Service de l'Energie de l'Etat	Mr Jean-Paul HOFFMANN
P	Direcção Geral da Energia	Mr Renato ROMANO
Е	Subdirección General de Planificación Energetica	Mr Angel CHAMERO FERRER
S	Swedish National Energy Administration	Mrs Kristina BEIERTZ
NL	NOVEM	Drs. Ir. Hans-Paul SIDERIUS
UK	Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Zone 6D/11, Ashdown House	Mr Chris BAKER (coordinator)
	ITS Research & Testing Centre	Mr Bob HARRISON
	BRE Ltd	Mrs Monika MUNZINGER

PART B

Interested parties

	c
Manu	facturers

The European Information, Communications and Consumer Electronics Technology Industry Association (EICTA)

Retailers

Eurocommerce

Environmental protection groups

WWF

Consumer organisations

The European Consumers Organisation (BEUC)