Proposal for a Council Decision concerning the conclusion of the Protocol on the extension of the Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and Brunei-Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam member countries of the Association of South-East Asian Nations, to Cambodia

(2000/C 337 E/26)

COM(2000) 423 final — 2000/0172(CNS)

(Submitted by the Commission on 6 July 2000)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 133 and 181, in conjunction with the first sentence of Article 300(2) and the first paragraph of Article 300(3) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament,

Whereas:

- (1) The Commission has negotiated on behalf of the Community a Protocol on the extension of the Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and Brunei-Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam member countries of the Association of South-East Asian Nations, to Cambodia.
- (2) This Agreement initialled on 16 June 2000 should be approved,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The Protocol on the extension to Kingdom of Cambodia of the Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and the member countries of ASEAN is hereby approved on behalf of the European Community.

The text of the Protocol is attached to this Decision.

Article 2

The President of the Council is hereby authorised to designate the person empowered to sign the Agreement in order to express the consent of the Community to be bound thereby (1).

⁽¹⁾ The date of entry into force of the Agreement will be published in the Official Journal of the European Communities by the General Secretariat of the Council.

PROTOCOL

on the extension of the Cooperation Agreement between the member countries of ASEAN and the European Community to the Kingdom of Cambodia

The GOVERNMENT OF BRUNEI DARUSSALAM.

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA,

The GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA.

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES,

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE,

The GOVERNMENT OF THE KINGDOM OF THAILAND,

The GOVERNMENT OF THE SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF VIETNAM

and THE ROYAL GOVERNMENT OF CAMBODIA, of the one part,

The COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION, of the other part,

HAVING REGARD to the Cooperation Agreement between the European Economic Community and Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand — member countries of the Association of South-East Asian Nations signed on 7 March 1980 in Kuala Lumpur, and extended to Brunei Darussalam on 16 November 1984 and to Vietnam on 14 February 1997 (¹), hereinafter referred to as the 'Agreement',

WHEREAS the Kingdom of Cambodia as a new member of the Association of South-East Asian Nations has applied to accede to the Agreement,

HAVE DECIDED to extend the Agreement to the Kingdom of Cambodia and to this end have designated as their Plenipotentiaries:

The GOVERNMENT OF BRUNEI DARUSSALAM:

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA:

The GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA:

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES:

The GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE:

The GOVERNMENT OF THE KINGDOM OF THAILAND:

The GOVERNMENT OF THE SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF VIETNAM

The ROYAL GOVERNMENT OF CAMBODIA:

The COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION:

WHO, having exchanged their full powers, found in good and due form,

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS,

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 117, 5.5.1999.

Article 1

The Kingdom of Cambodia accedes to the Agreement by virtue of this Protocol.

Article 2

The provisions of the Agreement together with the Protocol concerning Article 1 of the Agreement shall apply to the Kingdom of Cambodia.

Article 3

The application of the Agreement to the Kingdom of Cambodia shall not affect the application of the Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and the Kingdom of

For the Government of Brunei Darussalam (signature)

For the Government of the Republic of Indonesia (signature)

For the Government of Malaysia (signature)

For the Government of the Republic of the Philippines (signature)

For the Government of the Republic of Singapore (signature)

For the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand (signature)

For the Government of the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam (signature)

For the Royal Government of Cambodia (signature)

For the Council of the European Union (signature)

Cambodia signed on 29 April 1997 and which entered into force on 1 November 1999 (1).

Article 4

This Protocol shall enter into force on the first day of the month following the date on which the Parties have notified each other of the completion of the procedures necessary for this purpose.

Article 5

This Protocol is drawn up in eleven originals in the Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish languages, each of these texts being equally authentic